the ACC Post

ACC football news and insights | Breaking stories, brash opinions

Lamar Jackson wins the Heisman trophy

By  December 11, 2016

Lamar Jackson has won the Heisman trophy. The Louisville quarterback took the trophy Saturday night in New York City as its 81st winner.

Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma wide receiver Dede Westbrook, and Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers were also finalists.

Jackson led Louisville to an electric 9-1 start, with a dominant victory over Florida State and a near-comeback against Clemson on the road. Jackson piled up 51 touchdowns on the year, a new ACC record. Despite two losses to end the season, to Houston and Kentucky, Jackson’s body of work was enough to make him the favorite to win the award.

Leave a Reply